Schools in the Edmund Rice Tradition

There are five schools in New Zealand that draw on the foundations of a Christian Brother heritage and celebrate the Edmund Rice  charism today.

St Peter’s College    Auckland (Boys Year 7 – 13)

Liston College     Auckland (Boys Year 7 – 13)

St Thomas of Canterbury College, Christchurch (Boys Year 9 – 13)

St Kevin’s College, Oamaru  (Girls and Boys Year 9 – 13)

Kavanagh College, Dunedin (Girls and Boys Year 9 – 13)

Other schools which have/had a Christian Brother’s history in New Zealand and related territories are:

St Paul’s high-school (FKA Christian Brother’s High school) amalgamated with St Dominics College and St Philomena’s to form the current day Kavanagh College in Dunedin.

St Edmund’s School in South Dunedin operated for 39 years, from 1949 – 1988.

Christian Brothers Junior School in Dunedin

St Patrick’s School Oamaru

Edmund Rice College in Rotorua combined with Mary MacKillop College to form John Paul College in 1987. (Provides education for boys and girls Year 7 – 13)

Nukutere College in Rarotonga was founded by the Christian Brothers in 1975 and continues to provide education for boys and girls Year 7 – 11.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *